The seller will have to cancel the sale on the website. They have the right to evaluate you negatively, as the sales contract has been breached.
If you have placed a bid by mistake but are unable to cancel it through the sale page, it is because you do not, or no longer, meet all the conditions for cancelling your bid. If this is the case, the button to cancel the bid on the item page is not visible. In concrete terms, you are in this case if at least one of the following criteria is met:
- The sale is closed / the item has been sold at a fixed price (immediate purchase)
- The bid was placed more than 24 hours ago
- Several members have already placed a bid
- You have already cancelled 5 bids over the last 30 days.
Then, the only possibility is to contact the seller through the website's messaging platform to inform them of your desire to not proceed with the transaction. Please note that the seller cannot cancel your bid, but can only request the cancellation of the sale once it is closed.
There are several possible cases:
- Case 1 : The auction is still ongoing AND another member places a higher bid
This member becomes the highest bidder and the auction continues, you are no longer bound to it.
- Case 2 : The sale is still in progress BUT no other bids are placed
You will still be listed as the highest bidder and will be designated as the buyer of the sale when it closes. If the seller has accepted your cancellation request for this purchase, archive it from "My purchases".
The seller will have to cancel the sale on the website. They have the right to give you a negative feedback, as the sale contract has been breached.